SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

5 Jan

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 9 continued

Well, so much for prayer… and, I also held positive thoughts of expectation because I really thought getting the internet would go pretty smoothly.

Here’s the background.  In January (six months ago) when it seemed for sure I would have a land line soon, I did the research necessary to find out how to receive the internet.  I know cable doesn’t exist in my area so obviously it would have to come through my phone line.  I went to ICE in Santa Cruz, where I had been going for all these phone tribulations.  Seemed logical.  But no, the ICE office there has nothing to do with the internet.  Now, doesn’t it seem obvious that the same government controlled monopoly that controls both the phone and the internet would have the same services in all offices?

Nope, they told me I had to go to the ICE office in Nicoya, where they said I would need to purchase a special modem that would allow me to receive internet service via phone line, and request internet service there.  Nicoya is the next town of more than 300 people  (it also has only one signal and that’s at the main highway where you enter the town) about a half hour south of Santa Cruz.  Ok, I’m off to Nicoya.  Coincidentally, Nicoya was also the nearest place I could sign up for the internet, which I was told would be RACSA.   RACSA (don’t ask me what those letters stand for) is the internet division of ICE.

The other place was Liberia, which is two hours from me.  Good grief!   But at least it’s a pretty drive and on relatively good blacktop.

I decided to get signed up first and then go to ICE to buy my modem.  The ICE office had given me the name of a business in Nicoya that offered the internet sign up service with the state controlled monopoly, which is called RACSA (I saw someplace what those letters stand for but it’s unimportant).  Knowing that there are no address’s in C.R., I called the place to get directions.  This landmark substitute for address’s can present some interesting challenges to getting where you want.    I did finally find the place, after many calls to describe where I was at the moment to a female employee.

The girl who had been giving me directions turned out to be a gorgeous little thing so I forgave her for being less than brilliant with her directions.  What the heck, in C.R. it seems that time is of no value.  So what if I spent an extra half hour trying to find the place?  I’m serious.  Time simply seems to have little value to Costa Ricans.

Maybe that’s why they have the first or second longest life expectancy in the world (a fact I read about).

Leave a Reply

