SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

19 Feb

That bird incident was quite interesting by the way.  I had tried to help him out in the morning right after he flew in but was unsuccessful.  I needed to leave for a few hours so I figured he’d figure it out while I was gone but when I got back he was still there.

I decided to give him more time because I really didn’t want to grab him for fear of hurting him so I took a book outside to read in the hammock I have hanging from a couple coconut palms.  It was incredible!  Birds will actually try to help each other plus they communicate.  Here is what I witnessed.   Another bird repeatedly flew at the screens making interesting bird sounds while the one that was trapped talked back.  I don’t know how long this had been going on because I had been gone for some time but I laid there in my hammock and watched this for about a half hour.  Finally it became clear that they just couldn’t figure out how to get out so I went back in and gently grabbed him and then quickly released him with a downward motion.  It worked.  He flew to the edge of my deck and paused there for a moment.  The other bird flew up to him making bird noises and they flew off together talking.  What a trip!

Leave a Reply

