SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

23 Feb

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 15 continued

Well, at 8:30 I was ready to leave.  Then the phone rings.  It’s one of the potential buyers.  We have a lengthy conversation which involves answering his many questions.  He finally signs off with the indication that he will send a friend on Saturday, who lives in S.J., to look at the car and if it passes the friends inspection he will leave a deposit with Al.   The buyer also lived two hours away from S.J.  Then the phone rings again.  This time it’s the other potential buyer, whom I have never talked with because he was using an agent and all my conversations previously had been only with the agent, and I explain to him it may be too late.  Then the phone rings again and it’s the agent asking if I would give them the first right of refusal since they had been the first to contact me.   Of course I said no.   I said the first person to show up on Saturday that gives Al a deposit gets the car.  Coincidentally, I had the 2008 registration sticker for the car with me and had told the agent in an earlier conversation that I would contact them when I got in to San Jose so they could drive the car to their inspection facility.  That was part of the reason I was hoping to get to S.J. in the mid afternoon.

By now it’s 9:45.  So much for catching the 10am bus.  No problem, I’ll catch the 12:00 noon bus.   That puts me in S.J. around 5:30 and even though it’s a little late they may still be able to do the inspection.

Someone who has lived in Playa Junquillal for fifteen years told me a long time ago when I got my first flat tire that I’d have lots of those.   He was right.  In the fifteen months I’ve lived here I’ve had eight flats and two blow outs.   If you’ve ever driven Costa Rica roads you know why you get so many flats.

Yep, I go to my car, it has a flat.  In the short time I have lived here I have now changed more tires than in the sum total of the rest of my adult life.

So even though I’m pretty fast at it now, by the time I got it changed and to the repair shop it was 10:30.  Ok, I’m thinking that I’m cutting it pretty close because I still have to take my car to the secure (sort of) place I leave it in Santa Cruz and then get a cab to the bus depot.

So I decide to go get the ticket first then go park my car.   I made it to the bus terminal a couple minutes after 11.  There were 31 people in line for tickets to San Jose!  In all the times I’ve been to that terminal I’ve never had more than 6 or 8 people in front of me.  Well, it was 12:05 by the time I got up to the ticket window.   I bought a ticket for the 2pm bus and went and had lunch and a couple beers.

Leave a Reply

