SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

2 Mar

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 16 continued

So I need to interject that story here.  I have told clients at the salon in Pasadena that if per chance they show up at their appointed time for their haircut and I’m not there not to panic.  It just means that the bridge was flooded too deep to cross and I’ll see them the next week (hopefully).  Well, as you may have read in When it Rains it Pours, by now I’m feeling more relaxed about that because I’ve found a “back way” out that requires 4×4 but I get out.  What I didn’t count on was being stuck a few feet from my own house.

All the rocks and stuff that Mario put in the muddy ruts of the little street that leads from my house to the main road are to no avail.  More rain is turning the rest of the dirt into more mud, more back and forth in 4×4, more water running down from the main road, more deep ruts and I’ve needed to be pulled out a couple more times.  So it’s the Friday night before I need to be at the airport.  I ask Mario if, during the week while I’m gone, he will do something to make the street more drivable.   Well, very early Saturday morning he goes out with his machete and chops me a new path to drive on.  You see, the little street that leads to my house is now down to a narrow, one lane, muddy, rutted road, framed by a canyon caused by water run off and plants from the encroaching jungle which, of course, love and are encouraged by the rain.  So he hacked the jungle back on the other side of the canyon thinking, bless his heart, that the soil was more firm on that side.

The problem is it required that I cross one of the deep canyons (yes “canyon”) formed by the water run off.  I’ve got his whole family in the car with me because they wanted a ride to a small town about two kilometers away called Paraiso (pronounced: par-a-yso).  I gun it to cross the canyon, the back tire falls in the canyon and once again I’m buried up to the frame.  I have a plane to catch in Liberia that departs at 1pm.  It’s 8:30am but I not only need to get to the airport at the suggested 3 hours early for an international flight, I need to park my car at a secure location in Liberia and then take a cab back to the airport, which adds about forty five minutes to the schedule.  Mario jumps out of the car to find someone to tow me out.  Nidia and the kids get out to walk to Paraiso.  Not ten minutes later he comes back with a guy who has one of these big flat bed work trucks.  Not your normal truck but the really big kind painted orange with big double tires on the back.

He backs his truck down about 20 feet, ties a rope on to my car, guns the truck and immediately buries it in the mud!  Uh oh, I’m in trouble now.  Well, luckily Mario has a shovel.  Twenty minutes later with dirt and rocks shoveled under those big tires he is able to inch his way back up onto the road where he has traction.  The rope is just barely long enough to reach my car.  I’m saved and I make my flight.

Leave a Reply

