SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

12 Apr

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 20 continued

This involves the “Murphy’s Law” story and is further proof that Murphy lives in Costa Rica.

I had a flat as I was leaving my house for Nicoya.  I needed to get to Nicoya for some brief business which was to occur at 6:30pm and would be returning home so rather than wait for the flat to be repaired, thus risking being late for my meeting in Nicoya, I left the tire at my friendly repair place to be picked up on my way back home or the next day.

Well, as Murphy would have it, about 3 miles from Nicoya… bang… another flat and by now it was pitch black nighttime with traffic whizzing by on this narrow, no shoulders road.  I pulled up into what looked like a never used driveway (I could see a house with lights on through the trees) and with feelings of trepidation I called the emergency road assistance number my insurance agent had given me. (Murphy could have been nastier because my cell phone actually, surprisingly, received a signal at my location).  I asked for an English speaker and actually got one and, to shorten the story, one of those big flat bed trucks showed up from Nicoya about an hour and a half later.  Of course I never made the appointment but was at least able to call and reschedule.

The next challenge was getting the tire repaired and getting back home.  Too late.  By the time the truck got my car loaded on and we were in Nicoya any place that could fix a flat was closed.  We left the car at a well lighted 24 hr. gas station which was right across the street from a tire repair place and I called a cab to get to a hotel for the night.

The next challenge was getting back home by 9am the next morning to meet the guys who said they would be there at that time to repair my broken garage door.  As a side note, they did show up just a few minutes after 9 which was also a welcome surprise considering the fact that often it’s days after “mañana” when they finally do show up, usually unannounced.  It was a $750 repair so I figured they’d be on time.  But Nicoya is a little over an hour from my house and the tire repair place didn’t open until 7.  I know how everyone crowds into all the business’s early in this country so I made sure I drove my car across the street at 6:30 to be first in line.  I barely beat the next guy!  But I was first and there was a soda next door (that’s a very small family type eatery) so I had my favorite breakfast of eggs scrambled with ham, onions, chiles dulce (sweet red peppers), tomatoes and gallo pinto on the side (a mix of rice and beans with onions, cilantro, chiles dulce) while my tire was being repaired and made it home before 9am.

Ok, all that was interesting but now for the story that puts the punctuation mark after “Incompetence Naturally Stupid”.  Have you ever driven in a non-English speaking country?  Did you pray that you wouldn’t get in a wreck?

Leave a Reply

