SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise

2 May

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

Chapter 22

PASSING THROUGH CUSTOMS

Or maybe this should be subtitled “how to avoid customs”.

During all my many trips here to look for the perfect lot I always flew into Costa Rica’s main airport in San Jose.  It made sense since San Jose is located near the center of the country so I could go either North or South, depending on which “realtor” had enticed  me with an “I have exactly what you’re looking for” email.

You’ll notice I put the word realtor in quotation marks.  That’s because in Cost Rica the real estate industry is completely unregulated.  It has no licensing, no tests to pass and no control or any association or watchdog group.  Would you like to be a “realtor” here?  No problem, just hang out your shingle (so to speak) and you’re in business.  In more than one of my other journal entries you’ll read about some of the wild goose chases I was led on which led me to have a low opinion of the profession.  As matter of fact I noted in one entry that prostitution is accepted here, I just didn’t realize that profession included realtors.

Now I must admit that it has been more than two years since I have arrived at the main San Jose airport because my house is located much closer to the only other airport that can accommodate big planes which is Liberia.   The airport in Liberia is a little over an hour from my house as opposed to five and one half hours from San Jose.

But when I was flying in and out of San Jose I always wondered why the guy at the conveyer belt where you would place your luggage to be screened before leaving the airport always gave me a very bored look and simply indicated that I should pass through unscreened.

Maybe that’s changed now though because when I first began living here two years ago that was exactly the routine I experienced at the Liberia airport.

Leave a Reply

