SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis plumitapacifica.com

12 Dec

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a Guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 14 continued & chapter 15

There is a lot of nature around me and I’m really enjoying it.  It so reminds me of the first fifteen years of my life in the sticks of Alaska (but nice and warm!).

P.S.  The bat was gone the next morning.

Chapter 15

A “MURPHY’S LAW” DAY

This was not a normal day in Costa Rica.  But it contained, in concentrated form, many of the interesting glitches that I have come to expect/live with/laugh off as part of the price I pay to live in paradise.   I’m convinced Murphy lives in C.R.  He travels to other parts of the world to mess with people from time to time, but he lives in Costa Rica.

It started the night before.

I have had a car for sale for exactly a year now.  I’ve sold cars before in Ca. whenever I bought a new one.  I think the longest it ever took me was three weeks.  So, thinking like a gringo, I bought my next car and then put the other one on the market.  Well, for starters, since I live in a very rural area, and 70% of Costa Rica’s population lives in or around San Jose, I wasn’t too surprised that 90% of the calls were coming from that area.  What was more disconcerting was how few calls I was getting in total.  And of course the ones from San Jose were a total waste.  Of those, most were not serious.  If you’ve ever advertised a car for sale then you know what I mean.   But because S.J. is five and a half hours away by car, even if someone was serious, they were not about to drive to me and I, not knowing if they were really serious, was not willing to go on a bunch of wild goose chases.  Especially since I had discovered the pleasure of a relaxed $4.50 bus ride as opposed to a stressful $40 in gas drive (one way).

So a few months ago, after having received only about six calls from people close enough to show the car to, it became clear that if I was ever going to sell it I needed to have it in San Jose.

Leave a Reply

