SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis plumitapacifica.com

26 Dec

This is the continuation of a series of blogs to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a Guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers: Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

chapter 16 continued

Even though the roads have been improved and the airports have improved it is still advisable to arrive at the airport three hours early.

Ok, back to the main story.  This time, being wiser, the guy didn’t get himself stuck and in a short while he had me out.  I decided to try again using a slightly different approach and bouncing and grinding in low range 4 wheel drive I made it.  Whew!  I’m home.

The next morning, however, I wanted to go somewhere.  You guessed it… buried in muck again.  This time the tico with the big truck wasn’t home.  But a couple gringos with a good 4×4 came by and got me out.  Ok… I’ve had it!  Five times I’ve needed to be pulled out of my little street.   Each time a tico did it I gave him $20 “for beer”.  This is getting to be expensive (and ridiculous).  I found my contractor and asked him where I could find someone to bring a load of gravel.  He gave me directions and I found it with the help of some locals, kind of like I found the lady that made my toldo (see My Toldo).  As a matter of fact, the place to get the gravel is down the same road that my toldo lady lives on only about another mile or so past her house.

It’s really a beautiful jungle back in there!  I drove on down this dirt road until I came to a river that was about 100 feet wide and looked to deep to try and ford in 4×4.  I parked wondering what to do next because I hadn’t come to the gravel pit yet.  Just then some people come around a turn in the bank beside the river so I asked them how I would get to the other side.  They said use the bridge.  What bridge?  I couldn’t see any bridge from where I was.  They told me to just go around this hillside that bordered the river and I would see it.  They left, I went around the hill side and sure enough there was one of those hand built suspension bridges spanning the river about ten feet above the water.  You’ve seen pictures of the type of bridge I’m referring to.  It was the type that is constructed of wood slates suspended on cables with a cable on either side to hang on to as you go bouncing across the river.  I got to the other side, found a guy working in his yard and got some more directions.  In another quarter of a mile I came to the gravel pit, toured around with the worker as he showed me the different qualities and textures of these big piles of dirt and rock and for $150 I got a sufficient load (12 cubic meters) of dirt and rocks.  They dropped it at the entrance to my street the next day.  I’ve hired two ticos at the rate of $2 per hour each (about 40 cents per hour more than the going rate) to shovel it into my wheelbarrow and put it where I need it.  Problem solved, I hope.  They say they will be done tomorrow.  They’re working hard but I can see it’s going to take longer than I thought.

Since writing this piece prices and wages have increased… but where in the world haven’t they?

To be continued?  I hope not.  I’ll let you know when I know.

Leave a Reply

