SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis plumitapacifica.com

1 May

This is the continuation of a series of posts on my blog to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a Guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers:

Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

And just in case you’re interested… here’s the table of contents:

Introduction and Preliminary Comments – 3, My First Trip -15, Lost in Guanacaste – Playa Coyote – 20, Trust with a Child – 26, Lost in Panama – 29, Attorneys – 35, My Contractor – 38, My Security Guard – 61, My Toldo – 67, Getting a Land Line Phone and Internet – 76, A Cellular Phone – 115, A Country Doctor – 124, A Lesson Well Learned – 130, A Little Green Frog – 138, A Little Brown Frog and a Bat – 146, A “Murphy’s Law” Day – 153, Driving in the Rainy Season – 161, Drunk Drivers – 174, Fiesta del Toros – 185, Getting a Drivers License – 195, INS and a Minor Accident – 203, Lifeguards – 224, Passing through Customs – 232, Rules of the Road for Tico Driving – 236, San Jose – 241, Shopping and Making Tamales – 250, Taking the Bus – 272, Turtles in My Front Yard – 281, Untitled – 287, When it Rains it Pours (sometimes) – 294, She Found My Lot – 307, My First Traffic Ticket – 312, Ticket # 2 – 316, My Radar Detector – 318, Ticket # 3 (after a slow speed chase) – 324, A Christmas Parade – 338, Sex (the truth about ticos) – 343, Photo Album – 347, Appendix – 374

chapter 29

WHEN IT RAINS IT POURS (sometimes)

This is a twofold story/adventure.  I decided to put it here instead of with the adventures with women because I figured if I added one more “woman” story it would never get read.  This is not about a woman but does involve a couple you haven’t met yet.

But first the good news.  What you will read below all occurred before the main road was completely paved, new bridges correctly constructed and my little street covered with good gravel so that ingress and egress are no longer a problem, even without 4-wheel drive.

This all occurred during the rainy season, which by the way, is far and away the best time of the year here.  Its cooler, greener, prettier (not as many splashes of brilliant color but dazzling shades of green) and all around more tranquil.  And almost every night there is a spectacular light show out over the ocean!  We get a little rain three or four days out of seven, it usually occurs during the afternoon, tapers off between 5 & 7pm and then we get these beautiful electrical displays.  At times the direction of the lightning is such that with each flash it lights up the surf in a way that makes it appear as though there are lights in the sand shining up through the surf.  Spectacular!  Disney only wishes they could put on a show like that (but the price of entry might be prohibitive if they could even figure out how to do it).  Imagine, as far as the eye can see, with each flash, the surf lights up and then there is the crash of thunder.  It’s just magnificent from my balcony and the apartment patios, which are covered so they never get wet.

Speaking of balconies, I think I’ve won the “guerra de los zancudos” (war of the mosquitoes) for both my part of the house and the apartments.  I don’t even need to pull the curtains closed around dusk that enclose my balconies any more. You will read below the steps I have taken that seem to do the trick.  I explained in My Toldo how I solved the problem of mosquito’s feasting on me at night.  Well, I went back to the same lady and had her make curtains out of fancy mosquito netting in a pretty floral pattern that now surround my decks.  I can open them during the day and close them at night and they are transparent enough that if I keep them closed I can still enjoy my view.  A nice serendipity is they are also somewhat effective at keeping some of the rain off my decks and out of the house when the wind is blowing on shore.

Leave a Reply

