SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis – plumitapacifica.com

25 May

This is the continuation of a series of posts on my blog to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a Guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers:

Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

And just in case you’re interested… here’s the table of contents:

Introduction and Preliminary Comments – 3, My First Trip -15, Lost in Guanacaste – Playa Coyote – 20, Trust with a Child – 26, Lost in Panama – 29, Attorneys – 35, My Contractor – 38, My Security Guard – 61, My Toldo – 67, Getting a Land Line Phone and Internet – 76, A Cellular Phone – 115, A Country Doctor – 124, A Lesson Well Learned – 130, A Little Green Frog – 138, A Little Brown Frog and a Bat – 146, A “Murphy’s Law” Day – 153, Driving in the Rainy Season – 161, Drunk Drivers – 174, Fiesta del Toros – 185, Getting a Drivers License – 195, INS and a Minor Accident – 203, Lifeguards – 224, Passing through Customs – 232, Rules of the Road for Tico Driving – 236, San Jose – 241, Shopping and Making Tamales – 250, Taking the Bus – 272, Turtles in My Front Yard – 281, Untitled – 287, When it Rains it Pours (sometimes) – 294, She Found My Lot – 307, My First Traffic Ticket – 312, Ticket # 2 – 316, My Radar Detector – 318, Ticket # 3 (after a slow speed chase) – 324, A Christmas Parade – 338, Sex (the truth about ticos) – 343, Photo Album – 347, Appendix – 374

chapter 6 continued

The next panic was precipitated by the environmental watchdog group here.  I get this email from Alice that there is some developer about a mile down the beach from me trying to violate the mangrove area that adjoins the estuary there, and they’re trying to include my property in the action they are taking against this developer in conjunction with the municipality.  I think “what’s that got to do with me.  I’m a mile away.”  But I send the email on to my attorney in C.R.  She replies back not to worry and just build the place fast.  I forward her reply to Alice.  Alice replies back that it seems the group dropped me out of the action so no problem.  I put it out of my head. 

My house is nearly done months later and I’m in the only beach bar in Junquillal having a beer.  There’s no one in the bar except me and some lady with her ten year old son.  I’m about to leave when the lady says to me “are you Gary Davis?”  Somewhat stunned (I was falling asleep at my beer, too) I acknowledge my existence and she says she wants to give me some information about my house.  That got my attention.  Turns out she’s one of the key players in this environmental group (called the “Junquillal Association”) and I find out later also an attorney.  She proceeds to inform me that my house is also adjacent to a mangrove area, which is supposed to be protected, and no building is supposed to occur in a protected area.  Good grief!  This is all news to me.  I’m not even sure I know what a mangrove looks like and I certainly was unaware of the situation she described.  As a matter of fact, if I had known all this when I first looked at the property I wouldn’t have bought it. 

But because the municipality was unaware of the mangrove they issued my permits and efforts by the association to stop the construction were fruitless.  She later gave me all the paper work that had been generated by and between the association and the municipality.  I passed it on to my attorney.  I’ve joined the group.  Only time will tell if there’s more to this story.  One of my acquaintances say’s it’s brilliant.  He thinks I lucked into an estate because now that the municipality is aware of the mangrove no one can build around me. 

Interesting thought.

 

Leave a Reply

