SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis – plumitapacifica.com

31 Jul

This is the continuation of a series of posts on my blog to promote the e-book SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA – which is a Guide to… the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise… This is a guide book that will give you the kind of insider’s knowledge that you might wish you had before you made your decision to move or not move to Costa Rica.

Every blog entry will start with the appendix because that way when you read whatever else I have posted it will 1. make sense (I hope) and 2. give you a point of reference in case you realize you need to read something that is “archived”.  Because if you read every blog I enter you will have eventually read the whole e-book and won’t need to order it for $2.99 from Amazon or B&N.  All you’ll be missing are the photos that show what you might expect if you choose to undertake the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise.

As I said, I will start each blog with the appendix so that the reader can reference important elements of the book to archived blogs.  The page numbers shown are the actual page they appear on in the book. Here is the Appendix – and these are all the nuggets and their corresponding page numbers:

Definition of “nugget” – 3, Doors & Windows – 7, Manufacturing – 11, Real Estate – 11, Shipping – 12,Maps, – 15, Corporations – 20, Traffic Cops – 23, Know basic Spanish – 30, Panama – 33, Roof Line – 42, Plumita Pacifica Web Address – 65, Getting the Best a Tico has to Offer – 84, Power Surges – 86, Liberia Airport – 88, Attitude – 104, Cellular Phones – 117, Newspapers – 18, Your Embassy – 137, Buying & Selling Cars – 154, Drive Slowly – 161, Arriving at the Airport – 168, Wages & Prices – 170, Undertows – 226, Life Ring – 230, Avoiding Customs Confiscations – 234, Driving Rules – 236, Walking in the City – 249, Purchasing Anything – 258, Buying Fresh Produce – 263, Bus Tickets – 272, to “Bribe” or not to “Bribe” – 313, Traffic ticket Prices – 315, Exiting the Country – 337

And just in case you’re interested… here’s the table of contents:

Introduction and Preliminary Comments – 3, My First Trip -15, Lost in Guanacaste – Playa Coyote – 20, Trust with a Child – 26, Lost in Panama – 29, Attorneys – 35, My Contractor – 38, My Security Guard – 61, My Toldo – 67, Getting a Land Line Phone and Internet – 76, A Cellular Phone – 115, A Country Doctor – 124, A Lesson Well Learned – 130, A Little Green Frog – 138, A Little Brown Frog and a Bat – 146, A “Murphy’s Law” Day – 153, Driving in the Rainy Season – 161, Drunk Drivers – 174, Fiesta del Toros – 185, Getting a Drivers License – 195, INS and a Minor Accident – 203, Lifeguards – 224, Passing through Customs – 232, Rules of the Road for Tico Driving – 236, San Jose – 241, Shopping and Making Tamales – 250, Taking the Bus – 272, Turtles in My Front Yard – 281, Untitled – 287, When it Rains it Pours (sometimes) – 294, She Found My Lot – 307, My First Traffic Ticket – 312, Ticket # 2 – 316, My Radar Detector – 318, Ticket # 3 (after a slow speed chase) – 324, A Christmas Parade – 338, Sex (the truth about ticos) – 343, Photo Album – 347, Appendix – 374

chapter 10 continued

Well, for most people, the story would end here.  But this is Costa Rica, where nothing is as your North American expectations would have it.  The phone was ultimately stolen (see A Lesson Well Learned), which in the states is a hassle, but here it is much more than a “hassle”.  I bought a new phone from a store in Santa Cruz, which is the town closest to P. Junquillal, went through all the ICE hassles, but discovered, after some experimentation, that the model I bought had a very short “talk time” battery life.  I would need to charge it two times per day because, as I found out later, the manufacturer only rated the battery life at one and a half hours of talk time and about 24 hours of “standby” time.  And in C.R., where calls are dropped by ICE frequently and other weird anomalies occur, an hour and a half can go by without getting much said.  So I went back to the store, where the owner had assured me that the phone had a six month guarantee, to exchange it for another phone with more talk time.  After some “interesting” conversation he agreed to exchange it.  He only needed me to bring in the phone, charger and manual (and the original box but I talked him out of that because, of course, that was long gone).  Two days later I was back with the required items (see Driving – Rainy Season to understand why it took two days for me to get back).  Much to my chagrin, the store was locked up tight with official signs plastered all over it by the municipality that it had been closed by them for some violation of the law!

I have the feeling that this story may be continued.

Yep, continuation.  A week or so later I’m in Santa Cruz again and decided to go by the store and look more carefully at the signs the municipality had posted.   Good grief!  They don’t say what the violation was but they do say that it was an offense punishable by from four months to five (5) years in prison.

Guess I won’t hold my breath hoping to exchange this piece of sh.. I mean… phone any time soon.  I went and bought a car charger for it since, of course, it dies when I’m nowhere near my house.

Leave a Reply

