SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis – plumitapacifica.com

20 Feb

chapter 28 continued

Ok, now for today’s excitement:  I almost could title this “the day Murphy got both my guests”.   But I refuse to honor Murphy by giving him that much print time so until I come up with something clever it will remain “untitled”.

I don’t think I’ve ever described the business side of my endeavor here.  When I built my house I decided to take advantage of a fun opportunity.  Having been self employed all my adult life (since age 21 when I launched my first business), it only seemed natural to me to continue to be business involved in some way here in Costa Rica.  I never could envision myself as being “retired” in the classic sense.  Not to have a purpose or a drive for something “more” always seemed like sitting around just waiting to die. 

So when I found the lot, right on the beach with no possibility of any structure or vehicular artery ever between me and the water, just like I wanted and it happened to be zoned commercial, the ideas for a combination business/house flooded my mind.

How about a restaurant with a house on the second floor or a surf & sport shop with a house or a B&B or… The municipality had a whole list of the different types of businesses that they would allow, including a car rental agency (yuck).   The most fun one I thought of was “Pops Popsicles”. 

It would be a combination Jamba Juice/Starbucks and serve non-alcoholic beverages and snacks, including popsicles, and since there is a plethora of cute, sexy little teenage girls here the uniform would be shorts and a crop-top that said “Pops Popsicles” across it.

I know I know, some of you think I’m a dirty old man (true) but the main reason I didn’t do any of the more interesting things was because I’ve had enough of slavery.  As a classic example: is there any more enslaving form of business than a small restaurant?  (Owning a small winery maybe.)

Leave a Reply

