SO YOU WANT to LIVE in COSTA RICA the Adventures, Trials and Tribulations of Settling in Paradise by Gary Davis – plumitapacifica.com

6 May

chapter 35

A CHRISTMAS PARADE (small town Costa Rica style)

The biggest celebration of Christmas in C.R. happens Christmas Eve.  That’s when the family comes together in one place, gifts (if they can afford them) are exchanged between adults and Christmas day is when the kids get their gifts.   On Christmas Eve, in even the tiniest of towns, there is usually a parade followed by a fiesta.  The fiesta can include food stands, a bar and dancing.  Depending on the size of the town, it can really be a pretty big celebration.

I missed the Christmas parade and fiesta last year because I didn’t realize they even had one.  I asked Nidia on Christmas day why I had heard sirens and that’s when she explained about the parade and other festivities.

So this year I was ready.

Now, before I go into the details, I need to give you a little background.  I’m going to share a little of my history with you so you get the full affect of the juxtaposition and the fun that I experienced from that based on what I know about parades.

Leave a Reply

